Visn. Nac. Akad. Nauk Ukr. 2019. (2):58-68

A.M. Negriyko, L.P. Yatsenko
Institute of Physics of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Kyiv

Nobel Prize in Physics, 2018

On October 2, the Nobel Committee at the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced the decision to award the Nobel Prize in Physics of 2018 to three scientists working in the field of laser physics. Half of the prize went to the American researcher Arthur Ashkin for “the creation of optical tweezers and its application in biological systems.” The second half of the award was shared amongst the French physicist Gérard Mourou and Canadian researcher Donna Strickland “for the method of generating high-intensity ultrashort optical pulses.”

Language of article: ukrainian



1.     Ashkin А. Acceleration and trapping of particles by radiation pressure. Phys. Rev. Lett. 1970. 24(4): 156.

2.     Usikov A.Ya., Kontorovich V.M., Kaner E.O., Bliokh P.V. On the use of light pressure for selective pumping of gases. Ukr. J. Phys. 1972. 17(2): 1245.

3.     Ashkin A., Dziedzic J.M. Optical levitation by radiation pressure. Appl. Phys. Lett. 1971. 19(8): 283.

4.     Ashkin A., Dziedzic J.M., Bjorkholm J.E., Chu S. Observation of a single-beam gradient force optical trap for dielectric particles. Opt. Lett. 1986. 11(5): 288.

5.     Strickland D., Mourou G. Compression of amplified chirped optical pulses. Opt. Commun. 1985. 56(3): 219.

6.     Martinez O.E. Grating and prism compressors in the case of finite beam size. J. Opt. Soc. Am. B. 1986. 3(7): 929.

7.     Martinez O.E. 3000 times grating compressor with positive group velocity dispersion: Application to fiber compensation in the 1.3-1.6 µm region. IEEE J. Quant. Electron. 1987. 23(1): 59.

8.     Pessot M., Maine P., Mourou G. 1000 times expansion/compression of optical pulses for chirped pulse amplification. Opt. Commun. 1987. 62(6): 419.

9.     Maine P., Strickland D., Bado P., Pessot M., Mourou G. En route vers le Petawatt. Rev. Phys. Appl. (Paris). 1987. 22(12): 1657.

10. Maine P., Strickland D., Bado P., Pessot M., Mourou G. Generation of ultrahigh peak power pulses by chirped pulse amplification. IEEE J. Quant. Electron. 1988. 24(2): 398.

11. Perry M.D., Pennington D., Stuart B.C., Tietbohl G., Britten J.A., Brown C., Herman S., Golick B., Kartz M., Miller J., Powell H.T., Vergino M., Yanovsky V. Petawatt laser pulses. Opt. Lett. 1999. 24(3): 160.

Full text (PDF)